24
May
10

good advice about worship

I read a really great blog post that discusses the Top 10 Do’s & Don’ts for congregations as it pertains to worship – particularly the Sunday service.  I think this is great advice for all of us.  Here are the Top 10 (but you’ll have to go to the website to see the “how” and “why” behind them.

  • Don’t…worship the worship leader.
  • Don’t…demand entertainment.
  • Don’t…mumble.
  • Don’t…keep coming in late.
  • Do…pray beforehand.
  • Don’t…moan.
  • Do…have an open mind.
  • Don’t…just worship in church.
  • Don’t…boycott.
  • Do…worship.

1 Response to “good advice about worship”


  1. 1 Larry
    May 29, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I think that’s a tremendous list. May I add one or two?
    Don’t applaud when the minister says “finally, bretheren”.
    Don’t bring your own music just in case you don’t like theirs.
    Do wear shirt and shoes. There is casual and there is casual.
    Do take your baby out to change its diaper or to breast feed it.
    Don’t put an IOU in the offering plate.
    Don’t stand and shout “hallelujah” until the service starts.
    Do tell the pastor after the service that every semon he preaches is better than the next one

    As a former pastor I thought these suggestionss might be a little helpful


Comments are currently closed.

About Me

I'm the husband of April and dad of two boys (Tad - 9 and Grant - 5) I love talking about Jesus, branding, design, strategy, music, tv, movies, and sports. That doesn't mean I'm knowledgeable about any of those things - but I do like to talk about them.

Disclaimer

The opinions, observations, and musings expressed on this site are my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Freedom Fellowship Church or anyone else.