12
Apr
10

lord of the impossible

I saw a church sign the other day that said “Jesus is Lord of the impossible.”  While I think this is true, this isn’t what I have trouble with.  When something is impossible, I will freely hand it over and basically say “Here God, you have this.  I can’t deal with it.”  We’ll gladly allow God to be Lord of situations like cancer, financial ruin, failing relationships, a loved one with big problems, etc. because we have no idea what to do with them.  Surely He must know, right?  After all, He is the Creator.  So we give those things to Him.

Where I struggle is letting Jesus be Lord of the possible – the things that arise that I feel pretty capable of managing without any input from God.  When I think I have it all figured out or think that “I can handle this,” then I try to take control and be lord over that issue.

The problem with this is that Jesus needs to be Lord of EVERYTHING in our lives – the impossible AND the possible.  My sinful self will manage situations to my benefit and not to what God desires…so He needs to be in control all the time.


3 Responses to “lord of the impossible”


  1. 1 Larry
    April 20, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I agree that He needs to be in control at alll times that He wants to be, but there are times when He wants to take hands off and let us tryit on our own so that we might grow and learn. I guess the problem is knowing when that time is. When do you take your hand off the back of the bike and let your child go on his own knowing full well that he may fall, but that he’ll never learn otherwise?

    • 2 Chris Roberts
      April 20, 2010 at 4:29 pm

      Awesome point and I agree. My thinking was more of where the Lordship belongs and whether or not I intend to seek His counsel or not. Often I don’t even look for Him to be Lord over the possible or seek what He wants, but I ONLY look to what I can do. In that regard, I become “lord” and ignore Him.

  2. 3 Ann
    April 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

    AMEN and AMEN!


Comments are currently closed.

About Me

I'm the husband of April and dad of two boys (Tad - 9 and Grant - 5) I love talking about Jesus, branding, design, strategy, music, tv, movies, and sports. That doesn't mean I'm knowledgeable about any of those things - but I do like to talk about them.

Disclaimer

The opinions, observations, and musings expressed on this site are my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of Freedom Fellowship Church or anyone else.